Sitemap | Contact Us | FAQs | Catalog
1
Home Research Articles & Databases

Databases require a Syosset library card.
If you do not have a library card, you can download the application or explore the recommended websites.  Select journals, magazines and newspapers are also available in print at the library.  See what's available.

Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks Ltd.

Art/Music (3/- )

Biography (3/- )

Business/Finance (13/- )

College/Career (22/- )

Consumer Information (3/- )

Current Events (8/- )

Directories (3/- )

Encyclopedias (8/- )

Genealogy (4/- )

General Research (16/- )

Health/Medicine (10/- )

History (13/- )

Legal (1/- )

Literature (11/- )

Magazines (10/- )

Newspapers (11/- )

Scholarly Journals (12/- )

Science & Technology (9/- )

Teachers/Librarians (12/- )

World Language Resources (5/- )

Databases A-Z


2-1-1 Long Island (Formerly Community Resource Database of Long Island)

Free, online directory of health, human services, economic development, and education agencies and programs on Long Island.




Academic Onefile

Peer-reviewed, full-text journals and reference sources, for scholarly research articles for upper grades, college, graduate level, or beyond. Also includes media transcripts and podcasts, and medical videos.




America's Job Exchange for New York

New York State Job Exchange affiliated with America’s Job Exchange, which is the successor to America’s Job Bank. Full resources for job searching and career changing.




Ancestry Library Edition - (Available inside library only)

A comprehensive genealogy resource center including census, vital, church, court and immigration records.




Annals of American History

Original source documents from U.S. history. Topics include: American Democracy, Art and Leisure, Business and Industry, Education, Family, Labor and more. Read speeches, writings, memoirs, poems and interviews of the people who made and analyzed American history. Includes photos, multimedia and recorded statements from the Presidents.




Associations Unlimited

Contact and background information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations.




Biography in Context

Contains both quick reference and in–depth biographies, as well as images, full-text magazine articles and other information.




Brainfuse JobNow

JobNow! features live resume assistance, interview preparation and career coaching. Receive online help from experts in resumes, letter writing, and interview preparation.  In the Adult Learning Center, receive tutoring or coaching in areas of lifelong learning, including test preparation, computer skills, reading, writing and math.  Visit the Links & Tips section for web resources.




Britannica 21st Century Explorer

21st Century Explorer is an online learning and reference tool intended for reluctant readers, English learners and adult literacy students. User friendly and relevant, this site contains encyclopedias, an atlas, historic timelines, a dictionary and more.




Britannica Global Reference Center

Trustworthy reference information in five different languages, from the Encyclopedia Britannica family of products. Available in Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean and Spanish.




Britannica Online Library Edition

The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam–Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.




Business and Company Resource Center

Detailed company and industry news and information. Company profiles, brands, rankings, histories, investment reports, market share data. Contains industry overviews and rankings, and news and periodical articles.




Career Cruising

A multi–purpose career and education tool with in depth profiles of hundreds of careers, plus information on colleges and universities and financial aid. Career Cruising’s resume building feature supplies an easy to use, systematic approach to preparing a resume.




Consumer Reports

The exclusive online source for Consumer Reports magazine. View and print articles, complete with photos, charts and ratings.




Contemporary Authors

Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on thousands of U.S. and international authors .




CQ Researcher

In–depth, unbiased coverage of current news issues, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.




Credo Reference

Over 525 full–text general reference titles from nearly 70 publishers covering a broad range of academic and popular subject areas.




Daily Life Through History (formerly Daily Life in America)

Contains information on people and places around the world from ancient history to the present. Browse by time period, region, or subject, and understand historical context with chronologies and timelines, as well as images.




Department of Environmental Conservation

Department of Environmental Conservation is seeking male and female staff for four residential Environmental Education Camps.




EBSCO A-to-Z

Use this database to find a particular journal or magazine in an online database. Enter the publication title and this database will link to the appropriate database with full–text, if it is available.




EBSCO History Reference Center

Contains news, periodicals and reference sources for history topics, from middle and high school, to college and adult learners.




EBSCOHost Espanol



ERIC

This database contains research materials on education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.




Facts on File Modern World History Online

Contains event and topic overviews, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources and timeline entries covering world history from the mid-15th century to the present.




Facts on File Science Online

Contains essays on major topics and issues, articles on science in the news, timelines, diagrams, illustrations, images and videos. Also includes science experiments and activities, indexed by grade range, subject category and time required.




Facts on File World News Digest

Contains a complete archive of World News Digest from 1940, updated weekly, plus a live Reuters newsfeed, updated hourly. Features include: Country Profiles, Key People, Key Events and Key Issues.




Financial Times
This publication is an indispensable resource for anyone wanting to understand the context of global trade and finance. This database of financial and economic news offers instant access to hundreds of thousands of articles and features from one of the world’s leading sources of accurate and unbiased financial, economic and political news



Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Online version of the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, covering an array of topics and subject areas. Updated annually.




General Business File ASAP

Business news and information including: company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.




General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including scholarly journals and news media, on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.




Global Road Warrior

Practical information for travelers or students, about countries of the world, including society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security.




Grolier Online Passport

A comprehensive source of information on the arts, science, history, sports and much more. Features maps, biographical profiles, illustrations and links to authoritative articles, websites and periodicals. In addition to links to articles and websites, the encyclopedia includes photographs, videos and interactive maps and time lines.




Health and Wellness Resource Center

Full–text access to many nursing and allied health and medical journals and consumer health magazines.




Health Reference Center Academic

Articles from full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and select consumer health information sources, as well as full-text reference works and health-related multimedia. Content is suitable for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals.




HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. Federal Census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. Also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), contains citationing from local history and genealogy periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and abroad.




Home Improvement Collection, by Infotrac

A collection of magazine articles pertaining to home projects and remodeling, from popular, trade and specialty periodicals.




Hoovers

Detailed company and industry news and information. Company profiles, brands, rankings, histories, investment reports, market share data. Contains industry overviews and rankings, and news and periodical articles.




Infotrac Newsstand

Infotrac Newsstand includes over 1000 national, international, state and local newspapers.  Search articles from 1980 to the present, as well as news video, blogs and other news sources.  Search by title, dateline, section, and article type.  




Jobcentral - National Labor Exchange

This is a national labor exchange provided by leading U.S. employers in alliance with the National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA).




Jobcentral - Resources

This section of JobCentral offers advice on resumes, occupations, salaries and relocation information.




Learning Express

Test prep for Career Certification, U.S. Citizenship, and Civil Service Exams, K-12, College Prep and Graduate School Exams, and more. Also contains computer skills tutorials. You must set up a username and password the first time.




LexisNexis

LexisNexis Library Express contains information from newspapers (regional, national, international and foreign-language), broadcast transcripts, business and trade publications, legal research, company information, SEC filings, biographical information and patents. Offers detailed company information or compare companies matching specific criteria. Legal research available in library only.




Literature Resource Center

Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines.




Litfinder

Contains citations and full-texts of poems, short stories, plays, essays and speeches. Also find additional information sources such as biographies, images and explanations.




Live Homework Help (Available: Every day 2pm - 10pm)

Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades K–12, college introductory courses, adult learners and job seekers.  The SkillsCenter Resource Library provides lessons, study guides and other Homework Resources, Test Prep Resources for SAT, ACT, GED and other standardized tests and Career Resources including resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and local job openings.




Live Librarian (Available: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week)

Real-time communication with a Reference Librarian who can assist you with your Internet search or questions regarding the use of electronic resources.




Long Beach, NY

The city of Long Beach, NY offers civil service positions. Click on the Employment Opportunities at the Long Beach site.




Mango Languages
Study more than 20 foreign languages. English lessons for speakers of 15 other languages. You may track your progress by entering your email address and creating a password. After that, log in from anywhere to pick up where you left off.



Masterplots (Salem Literature)

Plot summaries, critical essays and reference information on hundreds of works of literature.




Morningstar Investment Research Center
Financial and analyst reports on stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs.



Powered by Sigsiu.NET RSS Feeds
Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM
Directions

225 South Oyster Bay Road
Syosset, NY 11791
516-921-7161

Enter your starting address:


 
Read more...
Hours

Hours of Service

  • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
  • Friday: 10 AM to 9 PM
  • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
  • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed July 4 through Labor Day)

Holidays

Read more...
Contact

225 South Oyster Bay Road
Syosset, NY 11791-5897

516-921-7161
Phone Directory

Fax: 516-921-8771
Email

Quotes About Books

"A house without books is like a room without windows."

 

- Horace Mann

 

Share

Facebook MySpace Twitter Digg Delicious Google Bookmarks 

 

 

Syosset Public Library Syosset Public Library