About UsReference Services, formerly Online ResourcesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Reference Services > Databases: History

History

American Mosaic: The African American Experience
Explore the history and culture of African Americans, as well as peoples of African heritage around the world. This database contains full-text entries from books, slave narratives, images, primary sources and Web sites.

American Mosaic: The Latino American Experience
Search for information on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Includes books, images, primary sources and Web sites.

Annals of American History
Original source documents from U.S. History. Topics include: American Democracy, Art and Leisure, Business and Industry, Education, Family, Labor and more. Read speeches, writings, memoirs, poems and interviews of the people who made and analyzed American history. Includes photos, multimedia and recorded statements from the Presidents.

Facts on File Modern World History Online
Contains event and topic overviews, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources and timeline entries covering world history from the mid-15th century to the present.

Facts on File World News Digest
Contains a complete archive of World News Digest from 1940, updated weekly, plus a live Reuters newsfeed, updated hourly. Features include: Country Profiles, Key People, Key Events and Key Issues.

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including scholarly journals and news media, on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Greenwood Daily Life in America
Descriptions of the day-to-day lives of Americans, from Colonial times forward. A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: reference works, primary documents, illustrations and audio clips.

Greenwood Daily Life Through History Premium
Contains information on people and places around the world from ancient history to the present. Browse by time period, region, or subject, and understand historical context with chronologies and timelines, as well as images.

Historical New York Times
The full-text of the New York Times from 1851 through 2005. [For current New York Times articles see Proquest Newspapers, Custom Newspapers or New York State Newspapers.]

History Resource Center: U.S.
Reference books, periodical information and primary sources covering U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Pop Culture Universe
"At a glance" overviews of pop culture from the 1920s to the present, including the movies, TV shows, awards, stars, fads, buzzwords, fashions and news items that defined each decade.

ProQuest
Magazines, journals and newspaper full-text and article abstracts including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and many popular magazines and scholarly journals in business, trade and medicine.

Salem History - Milestone Documents
This database of primary sources in American History provides in-depth analysis of historic documents from the colonial times to the 21st century. Analysis includes document overview and context, about the author, and an explanation and analysis of the document, its audience and impact. It also includes images, biographies and history and event overviews.

Student Resource Center
Covering all core curriculum areas, providing a selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.


About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail Reference Live Librarian Homework Help Library Board Meetings Museum Pass Program Babysitting Registry Bestseller Collection Friends of the Library Local History Collection

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2010, Syosset Public Library