About UsReference Services, formerly Online ResourcesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Online Resources > Databases: College/Careers

College/Careers

Job Search Resources
Career Cruising
A multi-purpose career and education tool with in depth profiles of hundreds of careers, plus information on colleges and universities and financial aid. Career Cruising's resume building feature supplies an easy to use, systematic approach to preparing a resume.

Community Resource Database of Long Island
Free, online directory of health, human services, economic development, and education agencies and programs on Long Island.

 

Business and Company Research
Associations Unlimited
This directory contains contact and background information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations.

Business and Company Resource Center
Detailed company and industry news and information. Company profiles, brands, rankings, histories, investment reports, market share data. Contains industry overviews and rankings, and news and periodical articles.

Proquest Newspapers
Find full-text articles from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Barrons, and many other national newspapers.

Reference USA
Directory of individuals and businesses in the United States and Canada, as well as doctors and dentists in the United States.

Government Websites

Federal
www.usajobs.gov
This is a one-stop source for federal jobs and employment covering all federal agencies. This site includes job searches in the US and assistance for employment overseas. A section on resume writing and tips for interviews are also included.

www.careeronestop.org
This site is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals are included. Also click on a new section Worker ReEmployment at top of page.

 

State
www.nycareerzone.org
The New York State Department of Labor developed this site. Click on NYJobZone. Select Career Services. Listed here are current job openings, job fairs and names and addresses of employers listed by occupation. NY Careerzone also offers profiles of occupations for those who wish to change careers.

www.statejobsny.com
StateJobsNY is a service provided by the NYS Governor's Office of Employee Relations to state agencies.

www.dec.ny.gov/education/1869.html
Department of Environmental Conservation is seeking male and female staff for four residential Environmental Education Camps.

www.americasjobexchange.com/ny
New York State Job Exchange affiliated with America’s Job Exchange. America’s Job Exchange is the successor to America’s Job Bank. This site offers the full resources for job searching, and career changing.

www.nysl.nysed.gov/libdev/libjobs.htm
This site offers library-related job openings in and around New York State.

 

Local
www.nassaucountyny.gov/website/LW/employment/index.html
Listed here are links to resources in Nassau County and local governments to assist individuals looking for work in Nassau County.

www.nassaucivilservice.com
The Civil Service Commission of Nassau County lists information about available positions and an application to take the Civil Service Examination is available.

www.hempsteadworks.com
HempsteadWorks is a network of organizations that assist employers in hiring qualified workers. This site offers career resources including job training, news updates including job fairs, links to partner organizations where there will be job listings. Also visit the HempsteadWorks Helpful Web Sites for Job Seekers. Listed here are job banks for specialized fields.

www.longbeachny.org
The City of Long Beach, NY offers civil service positions. Click on the Employment Opportunities at the Long Beach site.

www.northhempstead.com
The Town of North Hempstead offers civil service positions. Click on the link to Employment at the Town of North Hempstead site.

 

Veterans
www.hirevetsfirst.gov
A comprehensive career website for hiring veterans of America's military. This site is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Nassau County Warriors to Work Program. Warriors to Work is the first public-private program in the nation aimed at providing employment opportunities for our nation's returning war veterans. Any veteran who is a Nassau County resident will be eligible for the program. Program hotline is: (516) 572-8451.

www.labor.state.ny.us/VETs/VETINTROPAGE.shtm
New York State offers this site for veterans to assist them in returning to the workforce in New York State. Linked at this site is a local Veterans' Employment Representative.

 

Associations
www.jobcentral.org
This a national labor exchange provided by leading U.S. employers in alliance with the National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA).

www.jobcentral.org/resources.asp
This section of JobCentral offers advice on resumes, occupations, salaries and relocation information.

 

Career Changes
www.careervoyages.gov
This web site is the result of collaboration between the U.S. Department of Labor and the U.S. Department of Education. It is designed to provide information on in-demand occupations along with the skills and education needed to attain those jobs.

About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail Reference Live Librarian Homework Help Library Board Meetings Museum Pass Program Babysitting Registry Bestseller Collection Friends of the Library Local History Collection

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2010, Syosset Public Library