Sitemap | Contact Us | FAQs | Catalog
1
Home Kids Research Databases

Kids’ Databases


Biography in Context
Search for people–--both current and historic from all eras and fields by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.



Britannica Online Library Edition

The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam–Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.




Facts on File Modern World History Online

Contains event and topic overviews, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources and timeline entries covering world history from the mid-15th century to the present.




Facts on File Science Online

Contains essays on major topics and issues, articles on science in the news, timelines, diagrams, illustrations, images and videos. Also includes science experiments and activities, indexed by grade range, subject category and time required.




Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Online version of the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, covering an array of topics and subject areas. Updated annually.




Grolier Online Passport

Children in elementary school and up can search for a variety of topics from age appropriate sources including encyclopedia articles, magazines, websites, and media.




Kids InfoBits

Learners from Kindergarten through Grade 5 will find a wide range of age-appropriate materials including magazines and reference sources on topics such as geography, current events, the arts, science and more.




Kids Search

For Grades K-8, search by keyword or by topic such as geography, arts and music, sports and more.




Live Homework Help (Available: Every day 2pm - 10pm)

Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades K–12, college introductory courses, adult learners and job seekers.  The SkillsCenter Resource Library provides lessons, study guides and other Homework Resources, Test Prep Resources for SAT, ACT, GED and other standardized tests and Career Resources including resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and local job openings.




Newsday

Articles from Newsday in full-text from 1985 to the present.




Novelist K-8

Discover books you might like to read! Search by author, title, series name, and subject. Now including non-fiction!




Primary Search
Search full–text articles from popular magazines for elementary school research. Now includes EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals.



Searchaurus

For Grades K-8, search by keyword or by topic such as animals, health, history and more.




Sesame Street E-Books

For Grades K-8, search by keyword or by topic such as animals, health, history and more.




Student Resources in Context

For middle and high school students, provides information from core curriculum areas using reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.




TumbleBooks

Tumble Books LogoA fun and interactive library of animated, talking storybooks for beginning readers. After reading a story you can play puzzles and games. Once you are ready for longer chapter books, check out the Tumble Readables section.




World Book Early World of Learning

Contains three interactive learning environments that teach early childhood themes (colors, shapes, numbers, etc.), early reading skills (phonics, vocabulary, comprehension), and non-fiction topics. (PreK through Grade 2).




World Book Web Kids
World Book Kids includes thousands of easy–to-read articles, exciting images and illustrations, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources.



Powered by Sigsiu.NET RSS Feeds
Monday, May 21, 2012
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM
Directions

225 South Oyster Bay Road
Syosset, NY 11791
516-921-7161

Enter your starting address:


 
Read more...
Hours

Hours of Service

  • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
  • Friday: 10 AM to 9 PM
  • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
  • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed July 4 through Labor Day)

Holidays

Read more...
Contact

225 South Oyster Bay Road
Syosset, NY 11791-5897

516-921-7161
Phone Directory

Fax: 516-921-8771
Email

Quotes About Libraries

I’d be happy if I could think that the role of the library was sustained and even enhanced in the age of the computer.

 

- Bill Gates

 

Share

Facebook MySpace Twitter Digg Delicious Google Bookmarks 

 

 

Syosset Public Library Syosset Public Library