1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Author Visits

Jennifer Cody Epstein.  Tuesday, June 2.  1:30 PM.

Rosanne Chiofalo.  Wednesday, August 12.  7 PM.

 

Afternoon Book Club

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd.  Tuesday, May 26.  1:30 PM.

The Book of Unknown Americans by CristinaHenríquez.  Tuesday, June 23.  1:30 PM.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng.  Tuesday, July 28.  1 PM.

The Ministry of Special Cases by Nathan Englander.  Tuesday, August 25.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

Redeployment by Phil Klay.  Tuesday, May 12.  7:30 PM.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.  Tuesday, June 9.  7:30 PM.

Animal Farm by George Orwell.  Tuesday, July 14.  7:30 PM.

CROSSOVER BOOK DISCUSSION - Adults & Teens:
     Looking for Alaska by John Green.
 Tuesday, August 4.  7:30 PM.

 

20 & 30-Something Book Club

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer.  Monday, May 18.  7 PM.

20 & 30-Something Title Swap.  Monday, July 27.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, June 2.  1:30 PM.

Beach Reads Evening Title Swap.  Wednesday, July 8.  7 PM.

 

Book to Film

Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  Friday, May 15.  2 PM.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand.  Friday, July 17.  2 PM.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova.  Friday, August 21.  2 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

icon Musical Landscapes Through Time and Travel with Gemini Journey.  Saturday, June 27.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, May 16.

icon Mary Lamont Band.  Saturday, July 11.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, May 23.

icon The Tribunes.  Saturday, July 25.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, June 6.

icon The Musical Theatre Scrapbook.  Saturday, August 15.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, June 27.

icon Long Island Mandolin & Guitar Orchestra.  Saturday, August 22.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, July 11.

Classical Violin Recital: Mozart, Beethoven, and Beyond.  Sunday, September 27.  1 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, August 8.

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

icon Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, March 13 - June 26.  11 AM.  

icon Celebrating the Centennials!  Thursdays, June 4, July 2, August 6, September 3.  1 PM.

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, June 5, July 10, August 7.  11 AM.

icon The Rehabilitation of Sagamore Hill.  Thursday, June 18.  2 PM.

icon For the Health of It: Shoulder and Elbow Sports Injuries: Is There an Epidemic?  Wednesday, June 24.  7 PM.

icon The Dinner Party by Judy Chicago.  Thursday, June 25.  2 PM.

Local History Program: Geneaology - Beyond the Basics.  Thursday, July 9.  2 PM.

icon Current Topics Discussion Group.  Tuesday, July 14.  1 PM.

icon Elder Law and Estate Planning Update.  Wednesday, July 15.  7 PM.

icon The Roosevelt Family of Sagamore Hill.  Thursday, July 16.  2 PM.

icon Tanzania Photo Adventure.  Thursday, July 23.  2 PM.

Current Events in Perspective.  Thursday, July 30.  2 PM.

icon Tech Buddies.  Wednesday, August 12.

Property Tax Exemptions Workshop - Nassau County Department of Assessment.  Wednesday, August 19.  1 PM.

Gadgets Workshop: iPads and iPhones (Beginner).  Thursday, August 20.  10 AM.

Modigliani Art Lecture.  Thursday, August 20.  2 PM.

For the Health of It: Colon Care Awareness.  Friday, August 21.  11 AM.

Gadgets Workshop: iPads and iPhones (Intermediate).  Thursday, August 27.  10 AM.

The Iconic Barbara Streisand.  Thursday, August 27.  2 PM.

Gadgets Workshop: iPads and iPhones (Advanced).  Thursday, September 3.  10 AM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Exercise Classes

          No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Summer Schedule

 

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, June 3 - July 15.  1:15 PM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, June 9 - August 4.  10:15 AM.  

Zumba.   Mondays, June 15 - August 10.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, June 16 - August 18.  6:15 PM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Summer Schedule

 

The Good Lie.  Friday, June 19.  2 PM.

Celebrating the Centennials: Casablanca.  Thursday, July 2.  1 PM.

Far from the Madding Crowd.  Friday, July 3.  2 PM.

Book-to-Film: Unbroken.  Friday, July 17.  2 PM.

The Theory of Everything.  Friday, July 24.  2 PM.

Celebrating the Centennials: Kings Row.  Thursday, August 6.  1 PM.

The Lunchbox.  Friday, August 14.  2 PM.

Book-to-Film: Still Alice.  Friday, August 21.  2 PM.

Annie.  Wednesday, August 26.  2 PM.

Celebrating the Centennials: Citizen Kane.  Thursday, September 3.  1 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2015
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed Sundays July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        A public library is the most enduring of memorials, the trustiest monument for the preservation of an event or a name or an affection; for it, and it only, is respected by wars and revolutions, and survives them.

         

        - Mark Twain

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest