1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Afternoon Book Club

The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman.  Tuesday, October 28.  1:30 PM.

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler.  Tuesday, November 25.  1:30 PM.

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.  Tuesday, January 20.  1:30 PM.

Perfect by Rachel Joyce.  Tuesday, February 24.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.  Tuesday, November 11.  7:30 PM.

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan.  Tuesday, December 9.  7:30 PM.

The Pearl by John Steinbeck.  Tuesday, January 13.  7:30 PM.

Manhunt: The Twelve Day Chase for Lincoln's Killer by James L. Swanson.  Tuesday, February 10.  7:30 PM.

 

20 & 30-Something Book Club

War Brothers (Graphic Novel) by Sharon E. McKay.  Monday, November 17.  7 PM.

20 & 30-Something Title Swap.  Monday, January 5.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, December 2.  1:30 PM.

 

Book to Film

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James.  Tuesday, October 14.  7:30 PM.

     Film: The Others.  Friday, October 31.  1 PM.

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper.  Friday, February 13.  2 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

icon The Women of Broadway.  Saturday, November 1.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, September 20.

icon Classical Jazz with the Paul Joseph Quartet.  Sunday, November 9.  2 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Sunday, September 21.

icon Irving Berlin - From Poverty to Success.  Saturday, December 13.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, November 1. 

Great American Standards with the Paul Effman Trio.  Sunday, January 11.  2 PM.

     No tickets necessary.

Plaza Suite.  Saturday, January 31.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, December 13.

The Joy of Oy! - A Celebration of Jewish Humor and Song.  Sunday, February 15.  2 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Sunday, December 14.

Happy 100th Birthday Frank Sinatra! With Jerry Cardone.  Saturday, February 15.  2 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, January 10.

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, September 5, October 10, November 7.  11 AM.

Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, September 12 - December 19.  11 AM.  

icon Camille Pissarro: Humble and Colossal.  Thursday, October 30.  2 PM.

Local History Program: Can You Identify This Photo????  Tuesday, November 4.  11 AM.

icon ESL Short Story Reading Group.  Wednesdays, November 5 - 19.  

icon Degas and the Art of Japan.  Thursday, November 6.  2 PM.

icon Current Events in Perspective.  Thursday, November 13.  2 PM.

icon Citizen Preparedness Workshop.  Saturday, November 15.  10 AM.  

Couponing Is for Everyone.  Thursday, November 20.  2 PM.

icon Happy Birthday Joe DiMaggio.  Friday, November 21.  2 PM.

Historic Royal Palaces.  Thursday, December 4.  2 PM.

Nassau County Clerk Maureen O'Connel Presents Mobile Office.  Friday, December 5.  10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Let's Chat.  Fridays, December 5, January 16, February 6.  11 AM.

A Reality Check on Key Current Events.  Tuesday, December 9.  2 PM.

Long Island Multi-Faith Forum: Understanding Our Neighbors' Faiths.  Thursday, December 11.  2 PM.

The Art of World War I.  Friday, December 12.  2:30 PM.

Women Artists from 1062 to the Present.  Thursday, December 18.  2 PM.

Silent Movie with Live Piano Accompaniment.  Friday, December 19.  2 PM.

How to Pay Less Income Tax.
     Tuesday, January 6.  1 PM.
     Repeat Session: Wednesday, January 7.  7 PM.

Current Topics Discussion Group.  Tuesday, January 13.  1 PM.

Medicare Rights.  Wednesday, January 14.  11 AM.

The Comedy Duo of Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner.  Thursday, January 15.  2 PM.

Elder Law and Estate Planning Update.  Friday, January 16.  2 PM.

El Greco in New York.  Thursday, January 22.  2 PM.

Lincoln in the Civil War: Selected Speaches.  Wednesdays, February 4, 11.  11 AM.  

Lights! Camera! Trivia!  Thursday, February 5.  2 PM.

Long Island's Great Writers.  Friday, February 6.  2 PM.

Health Reference Program: For the Health of It... Diabetes.  Friday, February 20.  11 AM.

English Conversation Group.  Wednesdays, February 25 - April 1.  10:45 AM.  

Local History Program: William Floyd Estate.  Thursday, February 26.  2 PM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Technology

Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Beginner).
     Wednesday, January 7.  11 AM.  
     Repeat Session: Wednesday, January 28.  11 AM.  

Ebay Workshops with Lisa Kimoto.
     Beginners and Buying: Friday, January 9.  10:30 AM.
     Intermediate and Selling: Friday, February 13.  10:30 AM.

Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (OverDrive/Zinio).  Wednesday, January 21.  11 AM.  

Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Intermediate).  Wednesday, February 4.  11 AM.  

Tech Buddies.  Tuesday, February 17.  2 PM.  

Bus Trips

Checks Only.  No Refunds.  Open to Everyone.
In Person Registration Only.

 

icon New York Botanical Gardens Holiday Train Show.  Thursday, November 20.  8:45 AM - 6 PM.

Exercise Classes

No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Fall Schedule

 

Fall 2014

Zumba.  Mondays, September 8 - December 8.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, September 9 - December 9.  10:15 AM.  

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, Septmber 16 - December 2.  6:15 PM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, October 1 - December 10.  1:15 PM.  

 

Winter 2015

Zumba.  Mondays, January 5 - March 2.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, January 6 - March 3.  10:15 AM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, January 7 - March 11.  1:15 PM.  

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, February 24 - May 26.  6:15 PM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Defensive Driving Classes

Online Classes Available

Registration is ongoing at the Information Desk.  Not available for online registration.

 

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, November 22.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, December 6.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, February 21.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

Previous Defensive Driving Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Fall Schedule

 

Book to Film: The Others.  Friday, October 31.  1 PM.

Draft Day.  Friday, November 7.  2 PM.

The Grand Budapest Hotel.  Friday, November 14.  2 PM.

Key of Life.  Sunday, November 23.  2 PM.

Jersey Boys.  Friday, December 5.  2 PM.

The Freshman.  Friday, December 19.  2 PM.

Land Ho!  Friday, January 9.  2 PM.

Good Will Hunting.  Friday, January 23.  2 PM.

Lincoln.  Thursday, February 12.  2 PM.

This is Where I Leave You.  Friday, February 13.  2 PM.

Edge of Tomorrow.  Friday, February 27.  2 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Friday, Oct 31, 2014
Today's Hours: 10 AM - 6 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed Sundays July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        Great libraries have always looked to both the future and the past.

         

        - Laura Shapiro

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest