1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Afternoon Book Club

Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard.  Tuesday, March 25.  1:30 PM.

The House Girl by Tara Conklin.  Tuesday, April 22.  1:30 PM.

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri.  Tuesday, May 27.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra.  Tuesday, March 11.  7:30 PM.

Fever by Mary Beth Keane.  Tuesday, April 8.  7:30 PM.

The Manor: Three Centuries at a Slave Plantation on Long Island by Mac Griswold.  Tuesday, May 13.  7:30 PM.

 

20-Something Book Club

Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt.  Monday, April 21.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, March 4.  1:30 PM.

 

Local Author Showcase.  Wednesday, April 23.  7 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

icon The Unexpected Recorder.  Sunday, April 27.  3 PM.

     Tickets available Sunday, March 8.

icon A Jimmy Moore Sampler.  Saturday, May 3.  7:30 PM.
     Tickets available Saturday, March 22.

The Wand'ring Mistrels.  Saturday, May 17.  7:30 PM.
     No tickets required.

Sheri Miller in Concert.  Sunday, June 1.  2 PM.
     No tickets required.

icon Marlene Verplanck in Concert.  Saturday, June 7.  7:30 PM.
     Tickets available Saturday, April 26.

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

icon AARP Foundation Tax-Aide and Preparation.  Mondays, February 3 - April 14.

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, March 7, April 4 and May 2.  11 AM.

icon Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, March 14-June 27.  1 PM.  

icon Computer First Steps Series.  Fridays, March 28, April 11 and 25.  11 AM.  

icon Interior Design Trends.  Wednesday, April 9.  7 PM.

icon Syosset in the 60s.  Thursday, April 10.  2 PM.

icon Queen Elizabeth II, A Royal Senior Citizen.  Friday, April 11.  2 PM.

icon Tech Buddies.  Wednesday, April 16.  11 AM.  

icon Meet Me at the Musee D'Orsay in Paris.  Thursday, April 24.  2 PM.

icon Current Topics Discussion Group.  Friday, April 25.  1 PM.

icon Medicare Rights Center.  Wednesday, April 30.  11 AM.

icon The Original Grand Hotels of the Catskills.  Thursday, May 1.  2 PM.

icon ESL Short Story Reading Group.  Monday, May 5-19.  10:30 AM.  

icon Current Events in Perspective.  Thursday, May 8.  2 PM.

icon Brain Fitness Workshop.  Fridays, May 9-June 20.  10:30 AM.  

icon The Opinion of the Court: Understanding the Second Amendment.  Thursday, May 15.  2 PM.

icon Color in Your Garden Throughout the Year.  Monday, May 19.  1 PM.

icon So You Want to be a Published Author.  Wednesday, May 21.  7 PM.

icon The Comedy of Aging.  Thursday, May 22.  2 PM.

icon Goya and the Altamira Family.  Thursday, May 29.  2 PM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Bus Trips

Checks Only.  No Refunds.  Open to Everyone.
In Person Registration Only.

 

icon Morris-Jumel Mansion and the Museum of American Illustration.  Wednesday, April 23.  8:15 AM. Canceled due to low registration.

icon Wine Tasting Tour.  Wednesday, May 14. 

Exercise Classes

No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Spring Schedule

 

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, March 18 - May 13.  6 PM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, March 19 - May 21.  1:15 PM.  

Meditation.  Tuesdays, March 25 - May 6.  7:30 PM.  

Zumba.  Mondays, March 31 - June 16.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, April 1 - May 20.  10:15 AM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Defensive Driving Classes

Online Classes Available

Registration is ongoing at the Information Desk.  Not available for online registration.

 

icon AARP Smart Driver Course. Saturday, March 29. 9:30 AM - 4:45 PM

icon AARP Smart Driver Course. Saturday, April 26. 9:30 AM - 4:45 PM

icon AARP Smart Driver Course. Saturday, May 31. 9:30 AM - 4:45 PM

Previous Defensive Driving Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Spring 2014

 

12 Years a Slave.  Friday, April 4.  2 PM.

Three Worlds.  Sunday, April 13.  2 PM.

The Book Thief.  Friday, May 2.  2 PM.

American Hustle.  Friday, May 16.  2 PM.

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.  Friday, May 23.  2 PM.

Saving Mr. Banks.  Friday, May 30.  2 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Friday, Apr 18, 2014
Good Friday (Early Closing): 9 AM - 1 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        We cannot have good libraries until we first have good librarians-properly educated, professionally recognized, and fairly rewarded.

         

        - Herbert S. White

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest