1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Year-End Book Club Celebration with Author Paullina Simons.  Tuesday, December 16.  2 PM.

 

Afternoon Book Club

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler.  Tuesday, November 25.  1:30 PM.

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.  Tuesday, January 20.  1:30 PM.

Perfect by Rachel Joyce.  Tuesday, February 24.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.  Tuesday, November 11.  7:30 PM.

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan.  Tuesday, December 9.  7:30 PM.

The Pearl by John Steinbeck.  Tuesday, January 13.  7:30 PM.

Manhunt: The Twelve Day Chase for Lincoln's Killer by James L. Swanson.  Tuesday, February 10.  7:30 PM.

 

20 & 30-Something Book Club

War Brothers (Graphic Novel) by Sharon E. McKay.  Monday, November 17.  7 PM.

20 & 30-Something Title Swap.  Monday, January 5.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, December 2.  1:30 PM.

 

Book to Film

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper.  Friday, February 13.  2 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

icon Great American Standards with the Paul Effman Trio.  Sunday, January 11.  2 PM.

     No tickets necessary.

icon Plaza Suite.  Saturday, January 31.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, December 13.  No more tickets available.

icon The Joy of Oy! - A Celebration of Jewish Humor and Song.  Sunday, February 15.  2 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Sunday, December 14.  No more tickets available.

icon Happy 100th Birthday Frank Sinatra! With Jerry Cardone.  Saturday, February 15.  2 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, January 10.

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, September 12 - December 19.  11 AM.  

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, December 5, January 16, February 6.  11 AM.

icon How to Pay Less Income Tax.

     Tuesday, January 6.  1 PM.
     Repeat Session: Wednesday, January 7.  7 PM.

icon Current Topics Discussion Group.  Tuesday, January 13.  1 PM.

icon Medicare Rights.  Wednesday, January 14.  11 AM.

icon The Comedy Duo of Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner.  Thursday, January 15.  2 PM.

icon Elder Law and Estate Planning Update.  Friday, January 16.  2 PM.

icon El Greco in New York.  Thursday, January 22.  2 PM.

icon Lincoln on the Civil War: Selected Speaches.  Wednesdays, February 4, 11.  11 AM.  

icon Lights! Camera! Trivia!  Thursday, February 5.  2 PM.

Long Island's Great Writers.  Friday, February 6.  2 PM.

Health Reference Program: For the Health of It... Diabetes.  Friday, February 20.  11 AM.

English Conversation Group.  Wednesdays, February 25 - April 1.  10:45 AM.  

Local History Program: William Floyd Estate.  Thursday, February 26.  2 PM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Technology

icon Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Beginner).
     Wednesday, January 7.  11 AM.  
     Repeat Session: Wednesday, January 28.  11 AM.  

icon Ebay Workshops with Lisa Kimoto.
     Beginners and Buying: Friday, January 9.  10:30 AM.
     Intermediate and Selling: Friday, February 13.  10:30 AM.

icon Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (OverDrive/Zinio).  Wednesday, January 21.  11 AM.  

icon Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Intermediate).  Wednesday, February 4.  11 AM.  

Tech Buddies.  Tuesday, February 17.  2 PM.  

Exercise Classes

No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Winter Schedule

 

Zumba.  Mondays, January 5 - March 2.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, January 6 - March 3.  10:15 AM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, January 7 - March 11.  1:15 PM.  

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, February 24 - May 26.  6:15 PM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Defensive Driving Classes

Online Classes Available

Registration is ongoing at the Information Desk.  Not available for online registration.

 

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, February 21.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

Previous Defensive Driving Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Winter Schedule

 

The Freshman.  Friday, December 19.  2 PM.

Land Ho!  Friday, January 9.  2 PM.

Good Will Hunting.  Friday, January 23.  2 PM.

Lincoln.  Thursday, February 12.  2 PM.

This is Where I Leave You.  Friday, February 13.  2 PM.

Edge of Tomorrow.  Friday, February 27.  2 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2014
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed Sundays July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        Libraries store the energy that fuels the imagination. They open up windows to the world and inspire us to explore and achieve, and contribute to improving our quality of life. Libraries change lives for the better.

         

        - Sidney Sheldon

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest