1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Banned Books Week: September 21 - 27

Banned Book Discussion: Lord of the Flies by William Golding.  Tuesday, September 23.  1:30 PM.

Banned Book to Film: Lord of the Flies.  Friday, September 26.  2 PM.

 

Afternoon Book Club

The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro.  Tuesday, August 26.  1:30 PM.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding.  Tuesday, September 23.  1:30 PM.

The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman.  Tuesday, October 28.  1:30 PM.

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler.  Tuesday, November 25.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.  Tuesday, September 9.  7:30 PM.

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James.  Tuesday, October 14.  7:30 PM.

Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.  Tuesday, November 11.  7:30 PM.

 

20 & 30-Something Book Club

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan.  Monday, September 29.  7 PM.

War Brothers (Graphic Novel) by Sharon E. McKay.  Monday, November 17.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, September 2.  1:30 PM.

 

Book to Film

Lord of the Flies by William Golding.  Tuesday, September 23.  1:30 PM.

     Film: Lord of the Flies.  Friday, September 26.  2 PM.

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James.  Tuesday, October 14.  7:30 PM.

     Film: The Others.  Friday, October 31.  1 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

icon In Words and Music: The Story of the Yiddish Theatre.  Sunday, September 14.  2 PM.

     Tickets available Saturday, August 2.

icon A Musical Tribute to Harry Warren - That's Amore.  Saturday, September 20.  7:30 PM.
     Tickets available Saturday, August 16.

icon The Great Italian Songbook with the Quartetto Ducati.  Saturday, October 11.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available Saturday, September 6.

icon Scarborough Fair: A Simon & Garfunkel Experience featuring The Guthrie Brothers.  Sunday, October 26.  2 PM.

     Tickets available Sunday, September 7.

icon The Women of Broadway.  Saturday, November 1.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available Saturday, September 20.

icon Classical Jazz with the Paul Joseph Quartet.  Sunday, November 9.  2 PM.

     Tickets available Sunday, September 21.

Irving Berlin - From Poverty to Success.  Saturday, December 13.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available Saturday, November 1. 

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

icon Changes in our Lifetime.  Thursday, August 28.  2 PM.

icon English Conversation Group.  Wednesdays, September 3 - October 8.  10:45 AM.  

icon Lilly: Palm Beach, Tropical Glamour and the Birth of a Fashion Legend.  Thursday, September 4.  2 PM.

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, September 5, October 10, November 7.  11 AM.

icon Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Beginner).  Wednesday, September 10.  2 PM.  

icon The Harder Right: Making Ethical Decisions.  Thursday, September 11.  2 PM.

Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, September 12 - December 19.  11 AM.  

icon Leonardo Da Vinci: New Discoveries.  Friday, September 12.  2 PM.

icon Medicare Rights Center.  Wednesday, September 17.  11 AM.

icon Gadgets Workshop: iPads & iPhones (Intermediate).  Wednesday, September 17.  2 PM.  

Health Reference Program: For the Health of It... Eating Healthy in the Modern World.  Thursday, September 18.  2 PM.

A Reality Check on Key Current Events.  Tuesday, September 30.  2 PM.

icon The Arts and Crafts Movement in America.  Thursday, October 2.  2 PM.

icon Elder Law and Estate Planning Update.  Wednesday, October 8.  7 PM.

icon A Big Band Tribute.  Thursday, October 9.  2 PM.

Current Topics Discussion Group.  Tuesday, October 21.  1 PM.

Venetian Masks and the History of Carnevale.  Thursday, October 23.  2 PM.

Department of Assessment.  Friday, October 24.  1 PM.

Camille Pissarro: Humble and Colossal.  Thursday, October 30.  2 PM.

Local History Program: Can You Identify This Photo????  Tuesday, November 4.  11 AM.

ESL Short Story Reading Group.  Wednesdays, November 5 - 19.  

Degas and the Art of Japan.  Thursday, November 6.  2 PM.

Current Events in Perspective.  Thursday, November 13.  2 PM.

Citizen Preparedness Workshop.  Saturday, November 15.  10 AM.  

Couponing Is for Everyone.  Thursday, November 20.  2 PM.

Happy Birthday Joe DiMaggio.  Friday, November 21.  2 PM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Bus Trips

Checks Only.  No Refunds.  Open to Everyone.
In Person Registration Only.

 

icon 9/11 Museum and Memorial.  Thursday, September 18.  8:15 AM - 6:30 PM.

New York Botanical Gardens Holiday Train Show.  Thursday, November 20.  8:45 AM - 6 PM.

Exercise Classes

No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Fall Schedule

 

Zumba.  Mondays, September 8 - December 8.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, September 9 - December 9.  10:15 AM.  

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, Septmber 16 - December 2.  6:15 PM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, October 1 - December 10.  1:15 PM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Defensive Driving Classes

Online Classes Available

Registration is ongoing at the Information Desk.  Not available for online registration.

 

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, August 16.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, Septmber 20.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, October 25.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

AARP Smart Driver Class.  Saturday, November 22.  9:30 AM - 4:45 PM.

Previous Defensive Driving Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Summer Schedule     icon Fall Schedule

 

The Monuments Men.  Friday, August 15.  2 PM.

Gravity.  Friday, August 29.  2 PM.

Tanta Agua.  Sunday, September 7.  2 PM.

The Fifth Estate.  Friday, September 19.  2 PM.

Banned Book to Film: Lord of the Flies.  Friday, September 26.  2 PM.

Book to Film: The Others.  Friday, October 31.  1 PM.

Draft Day.  Friday, November 7.  2 PM.

The Grand Budapest Hotel.  Friday, November 14.  2 PM.

Key of Life.  Sunday, November 23.  2 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Thursday, Aug 28, 2014
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed Sundays July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        Great libraries have always looked to both the future and the past.

         

        - Laura Shapiro

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest