1

Program List


Information On All Programs

Readers' Services Programs

Local Author Showcase.  Wednesday, April 22.  7 PM.

 

Afternoon Book Club

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  Tuesday, March 24.  1:30 PM.

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats by Jan-Philipp Sendker.  Tuesday, April 28.  1:30 PM.

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd.  Tuesday, May 26.  1:30 PM.

 

Evening Book Club

Little Failure: A Memoir by Gary Shteyngart.  Tuesday, March 10.  7:30 PM.

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler.  Tuesday, April 14.  7:30 PM.

Redeployment by Phil Klay.  Tuesday, May 12.  7:30 PM.

 

20 & 30-Something Book Club

Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple.  Monday, March 16.  7 PM.

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer.  Monday, May 18.  7 PM.

 

Title Swap with Librarians

Title Swap with Librarians.  Tuesday, March 3.  1:30 PM.

 

Book to Film

Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  Friday, May 15.  2 PM.

Concerts & Performances

2 tickets per SSD household for the first week.
The library doors and theater doors open 30 minutes before Saturday evening performances.

 

Hotter Than a Pepper Sprout with Nina et Cetera.  Saturday, April 11.  7:30 PM.

     No tickets necessary.

icon Moving Pictures.  Sunday, April 19.  1 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Sunday, March 8.

Home Grown String Band.  Saturday, May 2.  7:30 PM.

     No tickets necessary.

icon I Love Paris: Edith Piad Remembered in Songs and Story.  Sunday, May 17.  1 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Sunday, April 12.

The Legends of Las Vegas with the Evergreen Trio.  Saturday, June 13.  7:30 PM.

     Tickets available beginning Saturday, April 25.

Previous Concerts & Performances

Lectures & Classes

icon English Conversation Group.  Wednesdays, February 25 - April 1.  10:45 AM.  

icon Let's Chat.  Fridays, March 6, April 10, May 1.  11 AM.

icon Taproot Writing Workshop.  Fridays, March 13 - June 26.  11 AM.  

icon Great Voices Series: Rosemary Clooney and John Raitt.  RESCHEDULED: Thursday, March 25.  2:30 PM.

icon Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.  Thursday, March 26.  2 PM.

icon Searching Online for Activities for Single Seniors.  Friday, March 27.  2 PM.

icon Tech Buddies.  Tuesday, April 7.  11 AM.

Local History: Preservation Workshop.  Thursday, April 9.  2 PM.

icon Medicare Rights.  Wednesday, April 15.  11 AM.

icon Whitney Museum Inaugural Exhibit.  Thursday, April 16.  2 PM.

Business & Careers Breakfast: Social Media Marketing for Business.  Friday, April 17.  8 AM.  RSVP

icon New Approaches to Investing.  Monday, April 20.  7:30 PM.

icon Current Topics Discussion Group.  Tuesday, April 21.  1 PM. This session is canceled by the speaker.

icon Iceland... Land of Fire, Ice and Greenery.  Thursday, April 23.  2 PM.

icon Elder Law and Estate Planning Update.  Friday, April 24.  11 AM.

icon ESL Short Story Reading Group.  Wednesdays, April 29 - May 13.  10:45 AM.

The Jewish Museum Art Lecture.  Thursday, April 30.  2 PM.

The Comedy of Motherhood.  Thursday, May 7.  2 PM.

Current Events in Perspective.  Thursday, May 14.  2 PM.

Health Reference Program: Protect Your Skin from the Sun.  Friday, May 15.  11 AM.

The Bintel Brief.  Thursday, May 28.  2 PM.

Previous Lectures & Classes

Exercise Classes

No refunds available after classes begin.

icon Spring Schedule

 

Yoga for Relaxation.  Tuesdays, February 24 - May 26.  6:15 PM.  

Zumba.  Mondays, March 16 - May 11.  9:15 AM.  

Yoga is for You.  Tuesdays, March 17 - May 12.  10:15 AM.  

Simply Fit.  Wednesdays, April 1 - May 20.  1:15 PM.  

Previous Exercise Classes

Syosset Cinema

All movies are open seating - first come, first served - and are free.
Children under 8 must be accompanied by an adult.

icon Spring Schedule

 

Gone Girl.  Friday, March 20.  2 PM.

The Judge.  Friday, April 17.  2 PM.

The Hundred-Goot Journey.  Friday, April 24.  2 PM.

For a Woman.  Friday, May 1.  2 PM.

Wild.  Friday, May 15.  2 PM.

Foxcatcher.  Friday, May 29.  2 PM.

Previous Syosset Cinema

Monday, Mar 30, 2015
Today's Hours: 9 AM - 9 PM

Main Menu

Directions

    225 South Oyster Bay Road
    Syosset, NY 11791
    516-921-7161

    Enter your starting address:


     

    Read more...

    Hours

      Hours of Service

      • Monday-Thursday: 9 AM to 9 PM
      • Friday: 10 AM to 6 PM
      • Saturday: 9 AM to 5 PM
      • Sunday: 12 PM to 5 PM (Closed Sundays July 4 through Labor Day) 

      Holiday Hours

      Contact

        225 South Oyster Bay Road
        Syosset, NY 11791-5897

        516-921-7161
        Phone Directory

        Fax: 516-921-8771
        Email


        Quotes About Libraries

        We cannot have good libraries until we first have good librarians-properly educated, professionally recognized, and fairly rewarded.

         

        - Herbert S. White

        Share

        FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousGoogle BookmarksPinterest